Community Preservation Committee

The Community Preservation Committee (CPC) has received two Applications for Eligibility and Funding for Community Preservation Act funds.  These Applications will be reviewed and discussed at the CPC Meeting scheduled for January 17, 2019, at 7:30 PM, in the First Floor Hearing Room.
Click here to review the Applications for Hufnagel Property Acquisition, received on January 14, 2019 by the CPC.
Click here to review the Applications for Pipestave Housing Generator, received on January 14, 2019 by the CPC.

Introduction and Overview

The Community Preservation Act (CPA), M.G.L. Chapter 44B, was signed into law by Governor Paul Cellucci on September 14, 2000. The Act provides for communities to create a local Community Preservation Fund for Open Space Protection and Outdoor Recreation, Historic Preservation, and Community Housing, by authorizing a surcharge on real estate taxes. A state match is provided each year in November for the previous year.

In West Newbury, the CPA was adopted At a Special Town Meeting held on October 17, 2005. Voters approved Article 17 to accept Sections 3 to 7, inclusive, of M.G.L. Chapter 44B, the Community Preservation Act, with a 3% surcharge on real property to be expended for uses as authorized by the Act. The ballot question was approved at the Annual Town Election on May 1, 2006 by a vote of 720 to 546.

The formula for the surcharge in West Newbury provides for an exemption of the first $100,000 of residential property value. An exemption for low-income residents is available, which must be applied for from the Board of Assessors each year. The Board of Assessors has prepared a summary of the CPA and how it impacts real estate taxes in West Newbury. The summary and the Application for Abatement may be found in the Office of the Assessors and on its website page.

General Bylaw XXXVI was approved at the Annual Town Meeting (Article 14) on April 30, 2007, and amended on April 28, 2008 (Article 21) to renumber the sections. The Bylaw established the Community Preservation Committee (CPC), which consists of seven members. A member of each of the following entities is appointed to the CPC by their fellow members:

Conservation Commission, Historical Commission, Housing Authority, Parks and Recreation Commission, Planning Board, and Board of Selectmen. An At-Large member is appointed by the Board of Selectmen. The Finance Director or designee is to serve as an ex-officio member. Members serve staggered terms in order to keep continuity on the Committee.

The CPC welcomes Applications on a year-round basis. There is a two-part Application process: An Application for Project Eligibility is reviewed by the CPC and a vote to approve is taken. If the vote is affirmative, then an Application for Project Funding is reviewed. The CPC reviews all Applications at a public meeting. Questions are asked, and additional information may be required. If approved, an article is submitted to the Board of Selectmen for inclusion on the Town Meeting Warrant.

The Guidelines for Project Submission and Application Forms detail information required. Links to those documents are provided on this webpage. If you have questions, please contact the CPC Office.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Jean Nelson Administrator (978) 363-1100 ext. 131

Board Members

Vice Chairman, Conservation Comm. Rep.


Joseph H. Anderson, Jr.

Selectmen’s Rep.


Robert Janes

Historical Commission Rep.


Mary Harada

Housing Authority Rep.


Raymond A. Cook

Secretary, Planning Board Rep.


Sherry Pruyn

At-Large Member


William Bachrach

Chairman, Parks and Recreation Rep.


Angus Jennings

Ex Officio Member